Progress Report

I graduated college on December 20th, 2013, which means that I have been living at home for one month. I’m going to break down the good and bad parts about this new transition.

The Good

  • My parents aren’t focusing me to pay rent or gas.
  • I’ll get to have my own car at the end of this month (graduation present from the folks).
  • I recently have two jobs; the first one is working in a grocery store which I’ve had since 2011, in between breaks from school. It is nice that they want me back because I’m a good employee for deli and seafood departments.
  • The second job is for a publishing company called Stonebrook Publishing and I am their new marketing assistant. My mom helped me land an interview and I couldn’t be more excited and grateful for this opportunity.
  • Being at home has taught me how to be more patient with people around me. I was always in a big hurry to get everything done so I didn’t have any stresses in my life. Stresses can be good because they are there to teach you how fucking hard life can be and how much worse things can get if you don’t stop and smell the roses every now and then.
  • My friends that are in the same boat, living with their parents. I am not alone in this struggle. And enjoy their company more now that college is over.
  • Watching my favorite shows at a reasonable time in the day.
  • Having more time to focus on my two loves; reading and writing.

The Bad

  • Having my co-workers at my first job ask me, “Do you miss being at college yet?” “Do you miss all of your friends?” “Don’t you wish you were there and not stuck HERE?” “You don’t want to work here forever, not with that degree you got, right?” “Is it weird living at home?” All of these stupid questions just bring me down and have no good merritt to them. Of course I miss college and everything about it. I knew this transition would be hard and you people are only making it worse, so quit bringing it up.
  • Also having co-workers hit on you while you’re working and they think that’s ok. No, I’m never going to date any co-worker, let alone creepy meat department guy who watches me bend over every time I drop or clean something. My ass may look great but you have a job to do, and that is not to look at what I got from behind.
  • Since my mom still doesn’t have a job, it’s been frustrating having to borrow her car while I need to work but she needs to go to meetings with her bestie while not trying to find a job.
  • Realizing you’re becoming your mom’s slave because she has no one else to boss around or tell someone what to do
  • Not having a vehicle to just go places and not be stuck at home so much.
  • Seeing all of those damn Facebook posts about starting school again and how Peoria is so great. Well, maybe not great all the time but the city definitely had its moments.
  • Not seeing my closest friends everyday, doing the same things and wishing that those times never had to end.
  • I hate feeling like the younger sibling. Yes, I know I’m the youngest but I’m 23 now and doesn’t that mean something now a days? I’m not a total screw up so quit “babying” me and treating me like I don’t know how to do anything I have been put on this earth to do.

The Ugly Truth

Overall, I have a lot to look forward to. Soon, I’ll have my own set of wheels and having this marketing assistant job is just the thing I need to make my resume look sharp and get me focused on what my career path should be. So many great things in my future that I know I shouldn’t be complaining. But it’s only been a month…can you really blame me for how much has changed in my life?

 

 

Leave a Reply

